top of page

One Minute Paper: Reflection - Unit 1 class session of Information Systems Management Module

Having gone through the lectures by Dr. David Kreps, I have observed important points regarding information systems (IS) and systems thinking. Kreps’ definition of information systems has got my attention. It looks interesting to me. I see that information is not just what we see and hear in its naked form; it is about how accurate and timely it is; specificity and organization; meaning and relevance; and usage to enhance understanding. Compared to raw unorganized facts or data, information is more organized and ready to be used to acquire knowledge and make decision. Therefore, I think information is good for the growth of e-business because it enhances organized and purposeful usage in managing business processes or operations to achieve key objectives. In systems thinking, I am concerned with the dynamics of business environments. I understand that information systems are integrated or united elements that work together to achieve an objective; but with the changes of business environments, such systems may disintegrate. I think information systems are specifically needed to be integrated in the entire business systems to achieve common objectives.

 

Blog Posts:
bottom of page